Reality of an expat

After permanently moving to France after a month, reality has really set in. Luckily, I have been to Lyon 5 times in the past year, so it already feels like home. When I made the final decision to finally move, I did so with one intention. To not be on my death-bed and say, “I wish I would have done that.” I have no regrets. The culture, the language, the mode de vie is who I am and therefore I am where I need to be.

I miss many things of the US, most importantly my 2 dogs and my closest friends. This is what is hardest on a daily basis. I miss the conveniences of the US: 24 hour grocery stores, stores like Target where I can get anything I need, speaking English, driving my Mini Cooper convertible.

Life in France presents its challenges just as any country. No country is perfect. The paperwork for a foreigner to live in France would require another blog so one has to really, really want to be here in order to make it happen. Luckily, I am beyond blessed because I have a French support system that without them, I would not be here. Whether it is from helping me set up my cell phone account, finding hangers in a store for my clothes, getting a subway monthly card, dealing with the delivery guy, getting me to a job interview, listening to me when I’m homesick, explaining the 50 expressions that come my way daily, correcting my accent because I ask that they do so. I would NOT be here without them, nor would I probably have made it this far. They are very protective of me and this is really hard to find in France right off.

I spend my days exploring, reflecting, reading, listening, and appreciating. Hoping that along this journey, I will make a few friends and have some people to hang out with, this will come in time. Otherwise, I absolutely love the country I live in. I am happy. I am nervous but I am truly happy. This was suppose to happen no other way. Not earlier in life nor later. It happened the way the Universe wanted it to happen and I’m loving and appreciating every moment of it.

My name is Erich and this is my life in France.

10 responses »

  1. I do believe all the ideas you’ve presented to your post. They’re really convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are too quick for newbies. Could you please prolong them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

    • Hi Valeria! Thank you for reading. There are some struggles, but the advantages outweigh of living in France completely outweigh them. I think it makes us appreciate everything so much more.

  2. Thank you Erich for this post. I’m moving to the Lyon area with my family this summer and I’m struggling with the idea of not working (I’m American married to a French man who has found a great job there). I’m excited and nervous. I’m am hopeful that one day I too will be saying “I am happy. I am nervous but I am happy”. Thanks!

    • Kristina, I am really excited to read this post and my apologies for only seeing this now. My goal is to update every 2 weeks now or more. So how is it going? It really takes some getting use to but life in Lyon is a beautiful life. I must say. Perhaps we shall get together for coffee if you like.

  3. It’s almost a year that you’re in Lyon… has your opinion of it changed a bit? I’m sure you still miss your dogs and friends, but what about the 24h stores? I used to miss the open air markets when I was in the US and I’m relieved they’re still here in France!

    • Flavie, As with everyone, please forgive me for only seeing this now. I will be updating regularly now! My opinions have changed on many things but you have to take the positives with the negatives in any country. My life, yes, was MUCH easier in the US, but my life here now is much more rewarding and fulfilling for me personally. Ask me tomorrow when the drivers are putting me over the edge or when I go grocery shopping and pay 25€ for a small bag of groceries 😉

Leave a Reply

